Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

After Syrinx I (1982)
commissioned by the Seaton Music Club, Devon
Work Notes
first of a series of pieces based on Debussy's Syrinx for solo flute
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Sub Category
Piano + 1 Instrument
Year Composed
12 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett After Syrinx I (1982)
Richard Rodney Bennett has said that the late works of Debussy have always been of special importance to him, and in the last few years he has written a series of works based on Debussy's Syrinx for solo flute, of which this is the first, commissioned by the Seaton Music Society for Malcolm Messiter. The other works in the series are After Syrinx II for solo marimba, Sonato After Syrinx for flute, viola and harp (the same combination as in one of Debussy's last three Sonatos) the Tango After Syrinx for solo piano and Dreamdancing commissioned by the London Sinfonietta for Bennett's fiftieth birthday last year.

After Syrinx I is in four linked movements which, although in greatly contrasting moods, are all melodically based on the opening of Debussy's Syrinx, which is presented on the oboe at the beginning of the work. This opening Adagio Flessibile is followed without a break by Scherzo II. The oboe cadenza which follows leads into the final Adagio.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.