Repertoire Search

Richard Rodney Bennett

Publisher: Novello & Co

Commedia IV (1973)
commissioned by the Malcolm Sargent Cancer Fund for the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Richard Rodney Bennett Commedia IV (1973)
Commissioned by the Malcolm Sargent Cancer Fund for the Philip Jones Brass Ensemble, and first performed by them at the Queen Elizabeth Hall on 27th April 1974.

The form of the four works entitled Commedia (1972-73) is mosaic-like, composed of a number of short inter-related sections. The instruments are thought of as actors in a play meeting in ensemble ‘scenes’ but also being grouped into smaller units. In this work six brief ensemble frame five groups of solos, duets and trios the form is symmetrically built around a central passage for horn.

  • Ensemble
    London Philharmonic Orchestra / Philip Jones Brass Ensmble
    Stephen Kovacevich, Richard Rodney Bennett, Thea Musgrave
    Alexander Gibson
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.