Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Jacob's Ladder (1984)
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Works (excluding keyboard)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
Haflidi Hallgrímsson Jacob's Ladder (1984)
A well-known allegorical painting by Marc Chagall, depicting the famous scene from the Old Testament, of the Dreams of Jacob, was the initial inspiration for 'Jacob’s Ladder' for solo guitar.

As the composition progressed, the frets on the neck of the guitar took on a symbolic significance as the steps in the famous ladder. The hands of the guitarist can be well seen in this poetic context as the angels ascending and descending the ladder.

The five movements are directly evocative of each title and its poetic possibilities. The harmonic language is simple and well-suited to the guitar’s sonorities.


1. Prologue
2. Stones
3. Sleep
4. Dream (Jacob’s Ladder)
5. Angels

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Scottish Chamber Orchestra
    Virginia Black, harpsichord / Philippa Davies, flute / Haflidi Hallgrímsson, cello / Pétur Jónasson, guitar
    Haflidi Hallgrímsson
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.