Repertoire Search

Robert Saxton

Publisher: Chester Music

Piccola Musica per Luigi Dallapiccola (1981)
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Robert Saxton Piccola Musica per Luigi Dallapiccola (1981)
Piccola Musica per Luigi Dallapiccola was written in 1981 at eth request of Jan Latham-Koenig. The title refers to Dallapiccola’s own Piccola Musica Notturna which is, in its turn of course, an Italian version of Eine Kleine Nachtmusik. Scored for flute, oboe, piano doubling celesta, viola and cello, the piece opens with a little oboe melody accompanied by bell-like resonances on the piano; this leads into a chorale-like passage which heralds a series of accelerating episodes all governed by a ‘Hauptrhythmus’. After the fastest section has been reached, there is an altered re-statement of the tiny choral alongside an abbreviated recapitulation of the opening oboe melody.

The first performance was given at the 1981 Montepulciano Festival by the Koening Ensemble under the direction of Jan Latham-Koening.

© Robert Saxton

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.