Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Variations (1966)
commissioned by the Scottish Amateur Music Association
Chester Music Ltd
Works for Band/Wind/Brass Ensemble
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Sale from Studio Music Explain this...
Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Variations (1966)
Theme - Solemn
Variation I - Restless
Variation II - Mysterious
Variation III - Lively
Variation IV - Noble
Variation V - Brilliant

It was a result of a commission from the Scottish Amateur Music Society that Thea Musgrave wrote her first work for Brass Band. It was written for the National Youth Brass Band of Scotland who gave the first performance in Scotland in 1966.

The composer says that she was intrigued by the unusual colouring which the brass tones offered, and in her Variations for Brass Band she uses the brilliant possibilities of these to full advantage, achieving fascinating effects. The work is based on an original theme, on which there are five variations.

  • 26 JAN 2008
    Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester
    Royal Northern College of Music Brass Band / Intercollegiate Brass Ensemble
  • 15 JUL 1966
    Variations World Premiere
    St Andrew's, Scotland, UK
    National Youth Brass Band of Scotland
    Bryden Thomson, conductor

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.