Repertoire Search

Aulis Sallinen

Publisher: Novello & Co

Introduction and Tango Overture (1997), 74 a
commissioned by Kitakyushu International Music Festival and The Forbidden City Music Festival, Beijing
Work Notes
version also available for piano and string orchestra (Op. 74b)
Novello & Co Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
10 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
str 4tet
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Aulis Sallinen Introduction and Tango Overture (1997), 74 a
The composition was originally written for piano quintet. Aulis Sallinen's aim was to write music to open a chamber music concert.

The Introduction is built of material the composer has used in the end of his seventh Symphony. The latter part is a salute to tango, the musical phenomenon that is very popular in Finland as well in Argentina.

© Aulis Sallinen

  • Ensemble
    Jean Sibelius Quartet
    Laura Mikkola, piano
  • Ensemble
    Savonlinna Quartet
    Irina Zahharenkova (piano)
“Aulis Sallinen’s Introduction and Tango Overture, in its British premiere, also reveals the playful side of its composer. Originally written for piano quintet, the piece opens in melancholy mood but gradually picks up the characteristic tango rhythms before signing off mid-flow, tango-style. Mikkola was again the soloist, and John Lubbock and his Orchestra of St John’s accompanied both works admirably.”
Barry Millington, The Times,10/12/1998
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.