Repertoire Search

Brian Elias

Publisher: Chester Music

Fantasia (1986)
Commissioned by Madeleine Mitchell
Chester Music Ltd
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Year Composed
9 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Brian Elias Fantasia (1986)
Fantasia for violin and piano is in three sections of increasing length, the final section being the longest. The first section is fast, the second slow, and the third is slower still. All the ideas used in the work are presented in the first few bars. All the ideas used in the work are presented in the first few bars. Much of its impetus is in the play of juxtapositions of these ideas and their presentation in the three different tempi. It is played without a break and lasts approximately nine minutes.

Fantasia was completed in May 1986. It was commissioned by Madeleine Mitchell with funds made available by the Arts Council of Great Britain and she gave the first performance accompanied by Klaus Zoll on 2 June 1986 in the Purcell Room, London.

Brian Elias

  • Soloist(s)
    Madeleine Mitchell (violin), Andrew Ball (piano)
The remaining two pieces inhabit stylistic realms quite different from the others. 'Fantasia', by Brian Elias,is frankly modernist in orientation; also the earliest work in the collection, it's a taut, bracing piece, with attractive textures and a compelling implied narrative. It presents a steely opening section, but then discovers within its own material a more lyrical, more warmly sonorous music - which Mitchell projects in gentler timbres and softer colours.
Christopher Ballantine, International Record Review,01/08/2005
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.