Repertoire Search

Michael Nyman

Publisher: Chester Music

The Fall of Icarus (1989)
commissioned by Plan K and Théâtre de la Monnaie
Work Notes
Exclusive to the Michael Nyman Band
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
1 Hour 30 Minutes
Unavailable Explain this...
Programme Note
Michael Nyman The Fall of Icarus (1989)

Derived from the famous, enigmatic painting by Brueghel the Elder Landscape with Fall of Icarus, this work is the fruit of Nyman’s close collaboration with two other artists working in different media and with different horizons: the Belgian Frédéric Flamand (concept and direction) and the Italian Fabrizio Plessi (design and video sculptures). Nine ctor/dancers – nine Icaruses – present a polyphony of electric images, music, choreography, video constructions, contrasting actions and dumb shows: a reminder of neverending human folly, powers of creation and desire and metaphysical terror

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.