Repertoire Search

Karen Tanaka

Publisher: Chester Music

Crystalline (1988)
Commissioned by Tomoko Yazawa
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
7 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Karen Tanaka Crystalline (1988)
This piece is constructed from seven short parts. B flat and E are used as axes throughout the work. A glassy, solid sound is required: like a cold, crystal sound sculpture.

Since I composed 'Crystalline' in 1988 I have wanted to project the image of crystal onto sound. A link and a further development from 'Crystalline' can be seen in the later pieces: 'Hommage en Cristal' (1991) for solo piano and strings, 'Metallic Crystal' (1994-95) for solo percussionist and computer and 'Crystalline II' (1995) for solo piano.

'Crystalline' was commissioned by Tomoko Yazawa, who gave the first performance in Tokyo on 7th September 1988.

© Karen Tanaka

But Karen Tanaka's Crystalline, also for piano and given with impressive poise by Tony Gray, beguiled because of its delicate, clear colours.
Stephen Pettitt, The Times,21/05/1991
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.