Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Strönd (1982)
Work Notes
written for Helga Ingólfsdóttir, harpsichord
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Keyboard(s)
Year Composed
3 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
'Strönd' was written especially for the Icelandic harpsichordist Helga Ingólfsdóttir, who gave the first performance in Skálhalt, Iceland in 1982. During April and May 1988, 'Strönd' was rewritten, and it is presented here in a new and greatly shortened version.

'Strönd' is a virtuosic piece in one continuous movement, based on repeated patterns which gradually develop and expand towards a considerable climax, followed immediately by a short coda.

The music reflects the visual pleasure of watching the ever-changing interplay between sea and light as seen and enjoyed on numerous occasions from the large studio window in Ms Ingólfsdóttir’s house. The house is named Strönd and is situated on an expansive peninsula south of Reykjavik.

* Strönd literally means a coast or a shore

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Scottish Chamber Orchestra
    Virginia Black, harpsichord / Philippa Davies, flute / Haflidi Hallgrímsson, cello / Pétur Jónasson, guitar
    Haflidi Hallgrímsson
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.