Repertoire Search

Haflidi Hallgrímsson

Publisher: Chester Music

Metamorphoses (1993)
commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust, Edinburgh
Work Notes
in memory of John Tunnell, written for Jaime Laredo
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
10 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score

Programme Note
Haflidi Hallgrímsson Metamorphoses (1993)
'Metamorphoses is written in memory of the violinist John Tunnell, who was one of the founders of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, and its leader for almost two decades. 'Metamorphoses' was commissioned by the Young Musicians Trust in Edinburgh, and received its premiere at the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh by the Kalichstein-Laredo-Robinson Trio, on 15 March 1994.

'Metamorphoses' is essentially a dirge that starts calmly, but gradually (through numbers of closely related sections) reaches a slow and solemn lament, played in unison by the violin and cello. The lament eventually reaches a spacious and powerful climax, followed immediately by a quiet and reflective coda.

© Haflidi Hallgrímsson

  • Ensemble
    Fidelio Trio
    Matthew Jones, viola
  • 02 FEB 2014
    Hugh Lane Gallery, Dublin
    Fidelio Trio

    Other Dates:
    2 March - Music in Kilkenny
  • 28 APR 2007
    Hallgrimsson at 60
    Greyfriars Church, Edinburgh, Scotland
    Fidelio Trio
    Joel Hunter, viola
  • 27 APR 2007
    Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Glasgow, Scotland
    Fidelio Trio
  • 27 SEP 2006
    Rotherham Arts Festival
    Oakwood Technology College, Rotherham
    Fidelio Trio
  • 10 MAY 2006
    Leeds Fuse
    Fidelio Trio

    Other Dates:
    26 June - Wiltons Music Hall, London
    27 September - Rotherham Festival, UK
    9 October - Frontiers Series, Birmingham Conservatoire, UK
  • 05 DEC 2001
    Queen's Hall, Edinburgh
    Hebrides Ensemble
    Haflidi Hallgrímsson, narrator; William Conway, conductor

    Other Dates:
    6 December - Adelaides, Glasgow

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.