Repertoire Search

Paweł Szymański

Publisher: Chester Music

Five Pieces (1992)
commissioned by BBC Bristol
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
17 Minutes

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score Full Score
Set of Parts Set of Parts

Programme Note
Paweł Szymański Five Pieces (1992)
Szymanski’s Five Pieces For String Quartet were composed in 1993 in response to a BBC commission for the Brodsky Quartet. The work is dedicated to the memory of the composer’s friend Jerzy Stajuda. Stajuda was one of Poland’s most outstanding artists, who died in March 1992 at the age of 55.

Each of the five pieces has a strongly individual texture, based around a single idea. The first is based on a brief phrase which could be from Mozart or Haydn, but it is worked through a dizzying series of slides from all four instruments. The second has a skipping, mechanical texture built up from single short notes. The third piece is the still, calm centre of the work - all glassy chords in harmonics, with faint ghosts of melody. On the other side of this pool of stillness, there is a loud, throbbing piece - arpeggiated chords played by all - and a gradually increasing addition of flurrying runs of decoration. The final piece is the strangest. The first violin plays a bleak, squawking series of chords. The other instruments quietly creep in, but remain in the background. The first violin never manages to pull the others into playing his rhythm; instead they simply melt away into silence.

  • Ensemble
    Brodsky Quartet
    Silva Screen:
  • 24 MAR 2018
    Miriam A. Friedberg Concert Hall, Baltimore, MD
    Peabody Conservatory

    Other Dates:
    25 March - Miriam A. Friedberg Concert Hall, Baltimore, MD
  • 06 SEP 2008
    Vale of Glamorgan Festival
    Ewenny Priory Church, Ewenny, Wales
    Silesian String Quartet

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.