Repertoire Search

Kaija Saariaho

Publisher: Chester Music

Oi Kuu (1990)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen, Helsinki
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
6 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
bass flute and cello

Scores on subscription
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   
Full Score   

Programme Note
Kaija Saariaho Oi Kuu (1990)
OI KUU (1990), freely translated "for a moon", marks a small break between two large orchestral works, DU CRISTAL and ..À LA FUMÉE. It consists of elements which came to my mind when searching for a common denominator for bass clarinet and cello; harmony based on multiphonies of the clarinet; the multiphonies and colour transformations of the cello; similar and different articulations; different colours in the same register.

OI KUU was written at the request of Kari Kriikku and Anssi Karkttunen and is dedicated to them.

© Kaija Saariaho

  • Soloist(s)
    Alexis Descharmes, cello; Jérémie Fèvre, flute; Nicolas Baldeyrou, Bass Clarinete
  • Ensemble
    Da Camera of Houston
    Camilla Hoitenga, flute; Anssi Karttunen, cello; Daniel Belcher, baritone; Heloise Dautry, harp
  • Ensemble
    Da Camera of Houston
    Camilla Hoitenga, flute; Daniel Belcher, baritone
  • 07 APR 2019
    Göteborgs Konserthus, Göteborg, Sweden
  • 10 NOV 2017
    The Old Church, Stoke Newington, London, UK
    Scordatura Women’s Music Collective
  • 19 OCT 2017
    St James's Church, Sussex Gardens, London, UK
    Scordatura Women’s Music Collective
  • 19 MAR 2017
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Fie Schouten, clarinet
  • 09 OCT 2015
    Salzburg, Austria
    Österreichisches Ensemble für Neue Musik

    Other Dates:
    10,11 October - Salzburg, Austria
  • 03 NOV 2012
    Borusan, Istanbul, Turkey
  • 12 JUN 2012
    Festival Feldkirch
    Feldkirch, Austria
    Stump-Linshalm, clarinett duo / Moritz Müllenbach, cello
  • 03 MAY 2012
    Isabella Sewart Gardner, New York
  • 26 JUN 2011
    Kunstverein & Stiftung Springhornhof, Neuenkirchen (Lüneburger Heide), Germany
    Musicians of Ensemble Laboratorium
  • 21 JUL 2010
    Music at Leasowes
    Ratlinghope, Shropshire, UK
  • 23 MAY 2008
    Maison de la Musique, Nanterre, France
    Nicolas Fargeix, clarinet; Florian Lauridon, cello
  • 20 SEP 2006
    Finnish Institute, rue des Ecoles, Paris
    Members of Ensemble Court-Circuit: Alexis Descharmes (cello), Jérémie Fèvre (flute), Pierre Dutrieu (clarinet), David Poissonnier (electronics)
  • 25 JUN 2006
    Museum Het Domein, Sittard, The Netherlands
    Ensemble 88

    Other Dates:
    9 July - Gallery De Appel, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 10 NOV 2003
    Turin, Italy
    Fiari Ensemble
    Marilena Solavagione, conductor
  • 27 OCT 2003
    Turin, Italy
  • 21 JUN 2003
    Bochum, Germany
    Hildegard Boots, flute / Anja Schröders, cello / Melanie Geldsetzer, piano
  • 02 MAR 2003
    Soli fan tutti
    Darmstadt, Germany
    Members of the Staatstheater Darmstadt
  • 01 MAR 2003
    Musica nova Helsinki
    Helsinki Conservatory of Music
    Heikki Nikula, bass clarinet / Roi Ruottinen, cello
  • 17 MAY 2001
    Marseilles, France

Tom Service, The Guardian,01/07/2000
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.