Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Journey Through a Japanese Landscape - Concerto for Marimba and Wind Orchestra (1994)
commissioned by the BASBWE Education Trust and a Consortium of Music Colleges (RNCM, University of Warwick, Birmingham Conservatoire, Guildhall School of Music and Drama)
Novello & Co Ltd
Works for Band/Wind/Brass Ensemble
Year Composed
23 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Sale from Studio Music Explain this...
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Journey Through a Japanese Landscape - Concerto for Marimba and Wind Orchestra (1994)
The four movements of Journey through a Japanese Landscape are based on a series of Haiku which represent an emotional journey through the four seasons. The solo marimba introduces each on with a ‘peal’ on wind chimes - bamboo for spring, wood for summer, metal for autumn and glass for winter.

The Haiku chosen for each of the seasons provide a setting and an ‘event’. Thus the gently undulating spring sea is the background for the free improvisatory character of the skylark (solo marimba).

The summer grasses have buried the glorious dreams of ancient warriors (a march for brass instruments) and after a violent storm, a distant memory of this march is heard on the solo marimba.

An autumnal fog envelopes a colossal Buddha (solo for English horn, with slow moving brass and hovering 6-note chords for marimba). The solo flute represents the lonely watcher who sounds “one gong after another”. The cricket (wood blocks, temple blocks and slap strokes on the marimba, over an intoned A flat) is asked to 'act as grave keeper'.

Glass wind chimes introduce the frozen winter landscape. Winds reintroduce the march theme, the ‘lonely’ flute returns, then sleet and snow various drums all played with nylon brushes) build to a big storm. Out of the silence that follows, echoes of the first movement suggest the return of spring and so rebirth.

Thea Musgrave

  • Ensemble
    Singapore Symphony Orchestra
    Evelyn Glennie, percussion
    Lan Shui
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.