Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Concerto for Clarinet (1968),
commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society in association with the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
Chester Music Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
24 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Concerto for Clarinet (1968),
The Clarinet Concerto was written in 1968 in response to a commission from the Royal Philharmonic Society (in association with the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation). It was first performed in February 1969 by the BBC Symphony Orchestra conducted by Colin Davis, with Gervase de Pyer as soloist at the Royal Festival Hall, London.

The Clarinet Concerto is one of a series of works where I have explored certain ‘dramatic-abstract’ ideas: that is, dramatic in presentation but abstract because there is no programme or ‘story’. In this work, the dramatic idea is basically a simple one and arises out of the original meaning of the word ‘concertare’ - that is, struggle or conflict in the sense of balancing unequal forces; solo versus tutti, or individual(s) versus crowd.

The solo clarinet, as well as having a virtuosic role, also here has another function in that it moves around the orchestra to play with various smaller ‘concertante’ groups. The groups in turn are set against the rest of the orchestra. At these moments the solo clarinet is usually independent of the conductor and leads the other members of the group.

Many notational problems had to be solved to be able to write down these ideas in a clear and practical way without losing general harmonic control.

The work is in one continuous movement and is a kind of concerto grosso; a recurring tutti section, easily recognizable with its fast rhythmic figurations, and then the various contrasting episodes sandwiched in between with a different concertino each time.

Thea Musgrave

Preview the score

  • Ensemble
    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
    Victoria Soames Samek, clarinet/bass clarinet
    Thea Musgrave
    Clarinet Classics:
  • Ensemble
    Scottish National Orchestra / London Symphony Orchestra
    Gervase de Payer (clarinet); Barry Tuckwell (horn); Thea Musgrave (piano); Malcolm Williamson (piano)
    Alexander Gibson / Norman Del Mar / Thea Musgrave
In the Clarinet Concerto the soloist himself traverses the whole orchestra….organizing concertante groups or cells, starting up disruptive movements which, however, do not subvert but enrich the fabric of the music’s composition. This device is at once theatrical … and musical and it symbolizes the diversity and panache of Thea Musgrave’s invention. The music seethes with a kind of revolutionary vitality harnessed for the greater strength of the work as a whole.
David Cairns, New Statesman,01/01/0001
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.