Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Chamber Concerto No. 1 (1962)
commissioned by the University Court, Glasgow, under the terms of the McEwen bequest
Chester Music Ltd
Large Ensemble (7 or more players)
Year Composed
11 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Chamber Concerto No. 1 (1962)
Chamber Concerto No 1 was written in the winter of 1961-62 and is scored for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, violin, viola and cello. It is dedicated to Robin and Margaret Orr and was commissioned by the University of Glasgow under the terms of the bequest of Sir John McEwan (1868-1948, the composer of a great deal of chamber music, including seventeen string quartets), for the encouragement of Scottish chamber music. The first performance was given at a McEwan Memorial Concert in Glasgow on 26 April 1962 by members of the Scottish National Orchestra conducted by the composer.

Thea Musgrave has described her later chamber concertos, Nos 2 and 3 as 'exploring the dramatic ideas in instrumental music', and as being in 'cumulative' forms. No 1 is more ‘static’, and is shaped somewhat like a movement in a concerto grosso, its design supported by four ritornello-like tutti sections that are related in their chordal pattern, though they differ in dynamic shading. These are separated by three more contrapuntal episodes (the second of them in slow tempo) for various instrumental groups. The form can thus be described as A B A CA B A.

Thea Musgrave

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.