Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Primavera (1971)
Text Writer
Amalia Elguera
Chester Music Ltd
Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed
4 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Primavera (1971)
PRIMAVERA is a short virtuosic work for flute and coloratura soprano. It was written for Dorothy Dorow who premiered it in 1971 at her concert in the Zagreb Festival of Contemporary Music.

The poem is by the Peruvian poet Amalia Elguera with whom the composer collaborated for her opera "The Voice of Ariadne" which had its US premiere in 1977 at New York City Opera.

La primavera ha llegado
De donde nadie nunca ha estado
Desde el fondo de los lirios ha llegado.
La primavera ha venido
Por donde nadie nunca ha ido
Por las ramas de las lilas ha venido la primavera.

...bolder than its simple components predict....
Colin Marshall, Santa Barbara Independent,27/04/2009
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.