Repertoire Search

Thea Musgrave

Publisher: Novello & Co

Serenade (1961)
commissioned by the John Lewis Partnership for the Melos Ensemble
Chester Music Ltd
Works for 2-6 Players
Year Composed
13 Minutes
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Thea Musgrave Serenade (1961)
Serenade was written in 1961 for the Melos Ensemble of London. There are three movements: Vivo, dry and rhythmic but with contrasting lyrical moments; Andante mainly led by the clarinet, though the viola takes over a solo role in the central climax; finally another Vivo where a scherzo-like theme, played first by the flute, gives the character of the movement.

Thea Musgrave

  • Ensemble
    The Mühlfeld Ensemble / English Serenata
    Stephen Varcoe, baritone
    Clarinet Classics:
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.