Repertoire Search

John McCabe

Publisher: Novello & Co

Trumpet Concerto, La Primavera (2012)
Novello & Co Ltd
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
25 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)
Alternate Orchestration
trumpet[flugelhorn]; pf

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
Full Score   

Programme Note
John McCabe Trumpet Concerto, La Primavera (2012)
The Trumpet Concerto 'La Primavera' is so-called because the initial impulse for the piece came from considering two aspects of the coming of Spring: the exuberance and vitality of burgeoning new growth, and the flowering (literally!) of the new or refreshed life as it expands. So the opening quick movement’s music is quicksilver and mercurial, with much celebratory material as well as overlapping patterns and a gradual increase in density – though there are also moments of chamber-music writing as well. In the central slow section which follows without a break, there is at first an almost static mood, inner life staying below the surface, until at length a complex theme rises, initially, from cellos and basses and eventually provides a full string texture. This is linked to the final quick section by a short “quasi cadenza” for the trumpet solo and bongos, and in the finale the music is rhythmic, once again accumulating through the juxtaposition of various overlapping strands. At the close, the trumpet solo has the last word (or the last note).

Two aspects of the instrumentation should be mentioned. One is that for the slow section, the soloist uses a Flugelhorn, that beautiful instrument beloved of brass bands and treated symphonically with great respect and sympathy by Vaughan Williams – it was also the instrument employed by Miles Davis. The other point concerns the percussion, which in a note in the score is requested to be placed, if possible, at the front of the platform next to, or near, the trumpet soloist, since the percussion part is at times in the nature of an obbligato.

The concerto was commissioned by the Orchestra of the Swan, and is dedicated to Simon Desbruslais, who initiated the composition, and to Robert Saxton and Tessa Cahill, whose encouragement provided the starting-point for this composition.

© John McCabe, 2012

Score preview:

  • Ensemble
    Orchestra of the Swan
    Simon Desbruslais
    Kenneth Woods
    Signum Classics:
  • Ensemble
    Orchestra of the Swan
    Simon Desbruslais
    Kenneth Woods and David Curtis
    Signum Classics:
  • 01 FEB 2014
    Electric Theatre, Guildford, Surrey
    Surrey Mozart Players
    Simon Desbruslais, trumpet; Kenneth Woods, conductor
  • 15 JUN 2012
    Spring Sounds
    Civic Hall, Stratford-upon-Avon, UK
    Orchestra of the Swan
    Simon Desbruslais; Kenneth Woods, conductor

'jazzily lyrical (the slow movement has the soloist adopting Miles Davis’s flugelhorn), crystally-clear brittle, and featuring extensive duetting between soloist and bongo-rich percussion. There is a powerful unison between soloist and orchestra as the fabulous ending to this memorable, life-enhancing piece approaches.'
Christopher Morley, The Birmingham Post,26/06/2012
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.