Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Double Concerto (2011)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Soloist(s) and Orchestra
Year Composed
22 Minutes
Solo Instrument(s)

Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales
   Full Score
Solo Part   
Solo Part   

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen Double Concerto (2011)

  • 20 MAR 2015
    Double Concerto London Premiere
    Milton Court Concert Hall, London
    Britten Sinfonia
    Thomas Gould (Violin), Alasdair Beatson (Piano) ; Carlos del Cueto , conductor

    Other Dates:
    21 March - Norwich
    22 March - Saffron Walden
  • 20 MAR 2015
    Milton Court, London
    Britten Sinfonia
    Thomas Gould, Alasdair Beaston; Carlos del Cueto , conductor

    Other Dates:
    21 March - Norwich
    22 March - Saffron Walden
  • 05 FEB 2015
    Alsion, Sønderborg, Denmark
    Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester
    Thomas Gould (violin), Alasdair Beatson (piano); Shao-Chia Lü, conductor

    Other Dates:
    6 February - Deutsches Haus, Flensburg, Germany
  • 17 JAN 2015
    BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Danish String Quartet
    Baiba and Lauma Skride; André de Ridder, conductor
  • 11 DEC 2014
    Musikhuset Aarhus, Aarhus, Denmark
    Aarhus Symfoniorkester
    Carolin Widman (violin), Tanja Zopolski (piano); Michael Schønwandt, conductor
  • 02 FEB 2013
    Sonningpris Koncert
    Koncerthuset, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Det Kongelige Kapel
    Carolin Widmann, violin / Tanja Zapolski, piano; Simon Rattle, conductor
  • 14 OCT 2011
    Double Concerto Country Premiere
    Örebro, Sweden
    Swedish Chamber Orchestra
    Baiba Skride, violin / Lauma Skride, piano; André de Ridder, conductor
  • 09 OCT 2011
    Double Concerto World Premiere
    Operaen, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Det Kongelige Kapel
    Baiba Skride, Lauma Skride; André de Ridder, conductor

'in its quietly beautiful, introspective way it touches on a whole range of musical worlds, from late Brahms to Arvo Pärt.'
Andrew Clements, The Guardian,3/23/2015
Abrahamsen's language is less urgently polemical, more suggestive, and here he uses the orchestra to paint wide, subtle landscapes on which the soloists place delicate but definite sound objects. The piece spirits away - a classic Abrahamsen move leaving us in lingering mystery.
Kate Molleson, The Guardian,1/20/2015
…if Abrahamsens double concerto gets the chance 5-10 times around Europe it will never disappear from the concert halls again
Henrik Friis, Politiken,2/5/2013
A frozen moment of silent beauty. An artwork of crystal. Tremendously redeemed by two heroines on piano and solo violin – you could lose your heart to those girls, if it wasn’t stalled. ”
Søren Schauser , Berlingske Tidende ,2/3/2013 was on top 3 over the most poignant I've heard from a danish composer
Henrik Friis, Politiken,10/11/2011
The Danish composer could set music to a Warsaw autumn. So silent, so frail, so deciduous is his doubble concerto. Especially the third movement was among the most profound moments of beauty ever heard in that hall.
Søren Schauser, Berlingske Tidende,10/11/2011
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.