Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

10 Præludier (1973)
Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen
Small Ensemble (2-6 players)
Sub Category
String Quartet
Year Composed
20 Minutes
Alternate Orchestration
Buy this work
Worldwide Sales   North American Sales

Programme Note
Hans Abrahamsen 10 Præludier (1973)
In all their briefness these ten "short-stories" for string quartet contain almost all that can be desired of musical expressions within the relatively short period of 20 minutes. Violence expressed as joy, simplicity as necessity, contrasts as form.

The eruptive side of the music is not sharply segregated from the simple, harmoniously melodious side.

Each of the "short stories" point forward to the next and at the same time back to its predecessor and thus makes for a composed overall-structure.

That the last of the preludes is a straight Baroque-pastiche could be interpreted as an almost Holbergian moral where things are sorted out and loos ends tied.

Like in the fairy-tales one could say, " . . . There, this was a true story".

  • Ensemble
    The Kontra Quartet
  • Ensemble
    Danish String Quartet
    ECM New Series:
  • Ensemble
    Arditti String Quartet
  • Ensemble
    Ensemble MidtVest
it has a steady and consistent sense of direction and development, with an actual long-range conclusion, and a riotously-characterful one at that, in an unbuttoned Baroque climax. A tremendous piece
Michael Tumelty, The Herald,19/01/2015
Each short movement is exactly and economically presented, and each has an individual flavour within a fundamental unity
Allan Blyth, The Daily Telegraph,22/04/1983
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.