Repertoire Search

Peter Maxwell Davies

Publisher: Chester Music

Unquestionably the most exciting and radical composing talent in Britain. — BBC Music Magazine

The Naxos Quartets represent something quite new, probably of inexhaustible interest and complicated pleasure, and maybe a landmark. — Financial Times

The other two pieces (Revelation and Fall and A Mirror of Whitening Light) rank among Davies's finest achievements, and therefore among the greatest works written in England in the past 50 years. - The Guardian

That super-bright mercuriality which characterises his music at its best. - The Independent
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2016 Awarded the Royal Philharmonic Society Gold Medal
  • 2012 Writes his 9th Symphony, dedicated to Her Majesty the Queen, on the occasion of her Diamond Jubilee.
  • 2009 BBC Proms UK premiere of Fiddler on the Shore as part of a Proms evening to celebrate the composer’s 75th birthday
  • 2006 BBC Proms world premiere of A little Birthday Music, written to celebrate the Queen’s 80th birthday, and set to a poem by the then Poet Laureate, Andrew Motion
  • 2004 appointed Master of the Queen’s Music
  • 2002-7 completed cycle of ten string quartets, commissioned by Naxos
  • 1987-96 writes the ten Strathclyde Concertos for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra
  • 1987 knighted for services to music
  • 1981 awarded a CBE
  • 1971 moves to Hoy in the Orkney Islands
  • 1967 together with Harrison Birtwistle, founded the contemporary music touring ensemble the Pierrot Players (later renamed The Fires of London)
  • 1953-8 studies in Manchester and Rome

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.