Repertoire Search

Maja S. K. Ratkje

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

An outstanding, complete musical personality, as a performer, as a singer, as a composer - Matthias Pintscher to BBC 2012

Ratkje brings a feral disregard for conventional form, combined with an extravagant imagination, linking it all to a fascination with the human voice and its communicative possibilities. Her works are dramatic, engaging and wildly diverse - Financial Times 2015

Wenn Maja singt, schläft niemand- Bad Alchemy 2016

Skandinaviens i dag kanske viktigaste tonsättare (Perhaps the most important composer in Scandinavia today) - Dagens Nyheter 2012
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2018: Featured composer and performer at Sounds of Stockholm
  • 2015: Festival composer at Trondheim Chamber Music Festival
  • 2014: First performance of Paragraf 112
  • 2013: Nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize as performer
  • 2012: Composer in Residence at Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival
  • 2012: Cikada premieres «And Sing While Thou On Pressed Flowers Dost Sleep» at Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival
  • 2011: Composer in residence at Avanti! Summer Sounds
  • 2005: Concerto for Voice (moods III) world premiere in Oslo
  • 2004: Wins the Norwegian Edvard Prize
  • 2004: Festival composer at Canadian Broadcasting’s festival Soundstreams in Toronto. Portrait concert in the Glenn Gould Studio
  • 2001: Receives the Arne Nordheim Prize
  • 2000: Graduating from the Norwegian Academy of Music
  • 1999: Wins the Norwegian Edvard Prize

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.