Repertoire Search

James Whitbourn

Publisher: Chester Music

...[an] extravagantly talented composer. [His works] glows with hypnotic brilliance, fusing powerful vocal writing with seductive eastern influences...[and] illustrate the boundless breadth of Whitbourn's choral imagination.  - Stephen Pritchard, The Observer
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • (2008; choir, viola, tanpura, organ, percussion)
  • (2004/2009; soprano, choir, orchestra/chamber ensemble)
  • (2004; choir, piccolo, organ, brass ensemble, percussion)
  • (2001; orchestral score for the BBC/Discovery landmark series)
  • (2001; choir, saxophone, organ)
  • (2000; tenor, speaker, orchestra)
  • 2010 Luminosity, second choral album released on Naxos
  • 2009 Annelies Chamber version. Premiere with chamber ensemble led by Daniel Hope (violin) in The Hague on Anne Frank's 80th birthday
  • 2008 Luminosity premiered in Philadelphia with Black Light dance ensemble Archedream and choirs of Westminster Choir College
  • 2007 US premiere of Annelies at Westminster Choir College
  • 2006 Missa Carolae & Songs of the Nativity - choral album released
  • 2005 premiere of Annelies in London under Leonard Slatkin; excerpts performed at the National Holocaust Memorial event before the Queen
  • 2004 setting of words by Desmond Tutu sung at the Commonwealth Observance, Westminster Abbey, before the Queen
  • 2002 Living Voices premiered in New York concert on the first anniversary of 9/11
  • 2002 Bridge over Tay used by the BBC for all its coverage of the Queen Mother's funeral
  • 2001 orchestral score of multi-award-winning BBC1 series Son of God
  • 2001 A Finer Truth - debut album of choral works release by Et’cetera
  • 2000 winner of Sandford St Martin Premier Award (with poet Michael Symmons Roberts)

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.