Repertoire Search

Ian Venables

Publisher: Novello & Co

 A song composer as fine as Finzi and Gurney.

Ian Venables, the Worcester-based composer [...] has so deservedly inherited the mantle of the recent past's great setters of English poetry. (Christopher Morley, The Birmingham Post)
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2013 UK premiere of The Song of the Severn Op 43 by Roderick Williams, Carducci Quartet and Tom Poster
  • 2011 Cheltenham Festival premiere and BBC broadcast of Remember This Op 40 performed by Caroline MacPhie, Allan Clayton, Elias Quartet and Tom Poster
  • 2010 UK premiere of The Pine Boughs Past Music Op 39 by Roderick Williams, Susie Allen
  • 2009 release of the Naxos CD ‘The English Song Series Volume 21 – Ian Venables’ performed by Andrew Kennedy, Iain Burnside, Richard Hosford
  • 2004 UK premiere of Songs of Eternity and Sorrow Op 36 by Andrew Kennedy, Tippett Quartet, Simon Lepper
  • 1995 Three Choirs Festival premiere of Love’s Voice Op 22 by Ian and Jennifer Partridge

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.