Repertoire Search

Helen Grime

Publisher: Chester Music

"[Grime] has as precise an ear as any contemporary composer I can think of..."  Paul Driver, The Sunday Times

"...Grime is a confident and persuasive colourist, generous but not profligate in her instrumentation, witty too. Small details made a big impact; the belated addition of a tuba to the bottom of the chord, baroque flurries of acciaccaturas and giddy trumpets..."  Anna Picard, The Times

"...her palette is all her own, weaving evocative, restless motives with cool insistence. She writes as though her music needs to be told..."  Kate Molleson, The Guardian
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2017 Two Eardley Pictures wins Scottish New Music Award for Large Scale Composition and is shortlisted for a British Composer Award
  • 2017 The world premiere of Fanfares opens the London Symphony Orchestra’s 17-18 season, Sir Simon Rattle’s first concert as Music Director
  • 2016 Announced Wigmore Hall Composer in Association for the 16/17 and 17/18 seasons
  • 2014 Night Songs released as part of the NMC Debut Disc series and selected as ‘Editor’s Choice by Gramophone Magazine as well as being included in The Sunday Times’ 'Top 100 Albums of 2014'
  • 2014 Near Midnight shortlisted for British Composer Award
  • 2010 Recipient of the Lili Boulanger Memorial Fund
  • 2010 Pierre Boulez conducts Virga with the Orchestre de Paris
  • 2010 Named Associate Composer of The Hallé from the 2011/12 season
  • 2009 Featured composer in the Philharmonia Orchestra’s Music of Today series
  • 2008 Awarded a Leonard Bernstein Fellowship to study at the Tanglewood Music Center
  • 2007 Premiere of her first orchestral work, Virga
  • 2005-07 Legal & General Junior Fellow at the Royal College of Music
  • 2003 Winner of a British Composer Award for the Oboe Concerto

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.