Repertoire Search


Jouni Kaipainen

Born: 1956

Died: 2015

Nationality: Finnish

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Photo © Hannu Männynoksa

Jouni Kaipainen is a Finnish composer, journalist and writer who was born in 1956 in Helsinki. He studied at the Sibelius Academy with Aulis Sallinen from 1973–76 and Paavo Heininen from 1976–1980. In his works, Kaipainen employs classical forms to shape musical events, which are often of a narrative character. He allows his themes and subjects to breathe and develop, which at times lends an aura of Mahlerian Romanticism to his music. Sonority and melody are important parameters for Kaipainen, and these are explored within structures that derive from eighteenth century concepts of form. 

He seeks to arouse the curiosity of his listeners, to entice them with the strength of his imagination and to share with them the joy of seeking and finding new paths. His main works include Carpe Diem (for flute and orchestra, 1990), Symphony no. 3 (1999-2004) and Symphony no. 4 - Commedia (2010). 
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Wise Music Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2020 Wise Music Classical. Part of Wise Music Group.