Repertoire Search


Henrik Hellstenius

Born: 1963

Nationality: Norwegian

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Photo © ©Lars Skaaning

Norwegian composer Henrik Hellstenius studied musicology at the University of Oslo and later composition with Lasse Thoresen at the Norwegian State Academy in Oslo. In 1992-3 he studied with Gérard Grisey at the Conservatoire Superieure in Paris, and he also studied computer-supported composition at IRCAM in Paris. Hellstenius´ output encompasses a large range of works: chamber music (Five Imprents of time, 1994) orchestral works (In Memoriam, 2012 and A Quiet Space, 2008/2015), opera (Ophelias: Death by Water Singing, 2005) electroacoustic music (The Law, 2014) and music for theatre, film and ballet. His music is frequently performed in concerts and festivals aorund Europe. Hellstenius´ music is lively and animated and the listener experiences an immediate sense of an underlying melodic, even lyrical, sensitivity, either directly or indirectly present. Hellstenius is also a professor in composition teaching at the Norwegian State Academy of Music in Oslo.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.