Repertoire Search


Gerard Schwarz

Born: 1947

Nationality: American

Internationally recognized as one of the leading conductors of his generation, Gerard Schwarz is also a prolific and dynamic composer studying with such distinguished mentors as Paul Creston, Rodger Sessions, Jacob Druckman, Milton Babbitt, Vincent Persichetti, and Pierre Boulez. He is a graduate of the High School of Performing Arts and The Juilliard School and has honorary doctorates from The Juilliard School, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Seattle University, Cornish College of the Arts and the University of Puget Sound.

His arrangements include Richard Strauss' Der Rosenkavalier Suite, Debussy's Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Humperdinck's Hansel und Gretel Suite, and Webern's Langsamer Satz. "Holiday Classics" and "Echoes," including arrangements and original compositions, were released by Naxos in 2010 and 2011.

In Memoriam (Naxos) is performed by Music of Remembrance and cellist Julian Schwarz and was named the Best New Work of 2005 by Seattle Weekly. Rudolf and Jeanette (Naxos), written in memory of Schwarz's maternal grandparents who died in a concentration camp, was premiered in its original form as a chamber ensemble piece and later as a full orchestral version in Zagreb in 2008.

Human Spirit (2008) is composed for children's choir and chamber ensemble and was performed in its full orchestra version in 2011 by the Seattle Symphony. Two Duos, for violin and cello, was premiered in 2008 at the awards ceremony honoring Schwarz as First Citizen of Seattle. His Trio for horn, violin, and piano was premiered in 2010. Above and Beyond premiered by "The President's Own" United States Marine Band in March 2012 and A Journey, a large scale orchestral tone poem will be premiered in July 2012.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.