Repertoire Search


Britta Byström

Born: 1977

Nationality: Swedish

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Photo © Lars Skaaning

Britta Byström was born in Sundsvall, Sweden and started composing during her teenage years. Later she studied composition at Musikhögskolan in Stockholm with Pär Lindgren and Bent Sørensen. 

Byström has written pieces in a wide range of genres including chamber music, vocal music, and opera, but orchestral music remains her main focus. Her careful ear for qualities such as timbre and resonance has resulted in an idiom that could almost be labelled impressionistic. She likes to express her music in pictures and has said: “I’m trying to make a music that sounds poetic and beautiful – and hopefully give the listener an aesthetic experience.” Byström’s works include Der Vogel der Nacht (2010) and Picnic at Hanging Rock (2010). In 2014 she won the da capo-prize at the German ‘Brandenburgbiennalen’ with the viola concerto A Walk after Dark.

Britta Byström’s music has been performed by several orchestras such as BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, International Youth Wind Orchestra and Jena Philharmonie. Between 2007-2011 she held the prestigious title of composer-in-residence at the Västerås Sinfonietta.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.