Repertoire Search


Søren Nils Eichberg

Born: 1973

Nationality: Danish

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

Photo © Henning Harms

Søren Nils Eichberg was born in 1973 in Stuttgart, Germany. He grew up in Denmark, but today he lives and works in Berlin. Eichberg has studied piano and conducting in Copenhagen and Cologne.

He is one of the most original composers of his generation and his output consists of numerous works in a variety of genres, including symphonies; cello, piano and violin concertos; an opera as well as solo, chamber and ensemble music. 

After he was appointed as the first composer in residence at the Danish National Orchestra in 2010, Eichberg put his highly personal mark on one of the leading orchestras in Scandinavia for the following three years.

Eichberg’s prizes and awards include a Tanglewood fellowship, the German Konrad-Adenauer Composition Grant and the Composition Stipend of the Danish Arts Foundation. Among his frequent collaborators are Ensemble Modern, Hilary Hahn, and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Since winning the Queen Elisabeth Competition for Composers in Brussels in 2001, composing has been his main focus.
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2014 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.