Repertoire Search
News - Stealing, Borrowing, Remembering 2 - concert series from the Berkeley Ensemble

Thursday, September 27, 2012
Over the course of five concerts, join the Berkeley Ensemble as they explore how two twentieth-century masters, Igor Stravinsky and Lennox Berkeley, responded to the music of the past, re-working it in their own compositions before ultimately becoming historical figures themselves for the generation that followed.

What links Lennox Berkeley, often remembered for his cool and elegant scores, with the composer of the primitive, pounding Rite of Spring? What connects these composers with Classical masters Haydn and Mozart? History remembers innovators, but all four stole, borrowed and remembered the music of their past. Join the Berkeley Ensemble as they explore the connections between these seemingly irreconcilable figures in their new concert series at The Forge in Camden, London.


19 September 2012, 7.30pm
Poulenc: Sonata for clarinet and bassoon
L. Berkeley: Quintet for piano and winds
M. Berkeley: Fierce Tears II
Woolrich: Favola in Musica I
Mozart: Quintet for piano and winds K.452

21 October 2012, 11am
Mozart/Bach: Preludes and fugues arr. for string trio K.404a
L. Berkeley: Oboe Quartet
Stravinsky: Élégie
Mozart: Oboe Quartet K. 370

28 November 2012, 7.30pm
Mozart: Divertimento in D for strings K.136
Stravinsky: Septet
L. Berkeley: Sextet for clarinet, horn and string quartet
Britten: Three Divertimenti for string quartet
Mozart: Clarinet Quintet K.581

10 February 2012, 11am
Mozart: Adagio and Fugue K.546
Stravinsky: Double Canon
Webern: Quartet op.28
L. Berkeley: Canon in Memoriam I.S.
Haydn: Quartet op.20 no.5

27 March 2012, 7.30pm
Stravinsky: The Soldier's Tale

For more information, please visit the Berkeley Ensemble website.

Back to List
Close X

Newsletter Signup

Enter your email address to keep up to date with the latest news and special offers from Music Sales Classical.
Your data is secure and you can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2019 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.